Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette


Used the topic of the Weekly Photo Challenge for this post. Silhouettes are very interesting pictures, letting the observer fill in the details which he cannot actually see with his imagination.

Sunset Silhouette

I took this first picture at my Grandparents house in Ottawa, Kansas. Up on a hill, in a field, watching the sunset with my grandmother….. it was very peaceful and beautiful. I was struck with the idea to take a picture of the different types of grasses/plants with the last bit of the sunset as the background. It turned out alright!

Silhouette of old Railroad Tracks

This picture is of the Kate Shelley High Bridge in Boone, Iowa.  We visited it with my Grandparents (on my dad’s side) and it was amazing how big (185 feet high and 2,685 feet long) this old bridge was. I was walking under the bridge and noticed how good the shade of the bridge felt on the back of my neck, because the sun was HOT that day. I looked up at the bridge when I was in the shadow, and thought to myself how good of a picture it might be. I was pleased with the outcome.

Sunset

This picture was taken in the backyard of my house. We have trees almost surrounding our property so that I can never get a good sunset picture, except for this little break in the trees where I can see the evening sky.  This was taken right before a thunderstorm. It was a beautiful sky.

Sunset Silhouette of Sunflowers

This is probably my favorite picture on this post. It was taken earlier the same night as the last picture. I remembered how well I liked the first picture, and used that  as the inspiration for this picture.

Which one is your favorite, and do you think silhouette pictures look better in a sunset sky, or mid-day?

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Wyatt VanDePol

Son, Brother, Nikon photographer, Beekeeper, Pianist, Artist, Coffee lover, Good book lover, Cross Country runner, and WordPress blogger.

3 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette”

  1. suchwildlove says :

    Very lovely. I think the last is my favourite.

  2. southernheart1 says :

    Beautiful photos! I love the colors in the first one, but the last is my favorite, as well. Thank you for visiting me and liking my post. Blessings! ~ Marsha

Please Comment! You know you want to!

Ozark Mountain Preparedness, LLC.

Outdoor Survival Courses in NW Arkansas

JeffKlick.com

Jeffklick.com - Seeking a Generational Harvest

Confessions of a Fotographer

a look into my lens

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

山康摄影

chi khong photography

The PhotoNaturalist

Adventures in natural history photography with Sparky Stensaas

amare vitam

capturing southwestern saskatchewan and beyond through my lens

