Red-Tailed Hawk


I got a chance to go to take a trip a local lake and do some birding recently. I was hoping to see some birds of prey (Bald Eagle, Red Tailed Hawk, etc…) and so when I saw a Red-Tail Hawk flying around, I was really eager to get some pictures. I have never photographed birds of prey, but I wanted to try anyways, and what better way to learn than doing!

Here are some pictures I took of the Hawk in flight:

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

I also wanted to get some pictures of this guy on the ground, so after he landed I went into stealth mode. I had trouble at first. I thought I was being real sneaky, and was creeping up on him, crawling around a hill, thinking he couldn’t see me. Well, the next thing I know, he decides that he HAS seen me, and he has seen quite enough of me, so packs his bags and flies about 50 yards away. This continued for a while… I would get close, he would take off… I would get closer, he would take off again. This charade was kept up until It was time for us to get going and head home.

Here are a few pictures I got during the chase:

A Red-Tailed Hawk, resting on a post.

A Red-Tailed Hawk, resting on a post.

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk in flight

On the drive home I kept seeing more hawks! I I don’t know how many we saw, but its a short 20 minute drive, so it seemed like a lot. We were almost home when we saw another Red-Tailed sitting about 20 feet away from the road, on what we thought was a rabbit. I had my dad pull in a driveway a little ways down, and tried to get some pictures.

Here are a few pics of this Red-Tail:

A Red-Tailed Hawk sitting with his meal

A Red-Tailed Hawk sitting with his meal

A Red-Tailed Hawk sitting with his meal

A Red-Tailed Hawk sitting with his meal

A Red-Tailed Hawk sitting with his meal

A Red-Tailed Hawk sitting with his meal

A Red-Tailed Hawk sitting with his meal

A Red-Tailed Hawk sitting with his meal

So as I was sitting there in the car, and lo and behold, another Red-Tail flies up and lands on a telephone post next to us (I was thinking ‘I need to wake up! this is such a crazy dream!’).

Here is a picture of  that Red-Tail:

A Red-Tail Hawk taking flight from his perch up on a telephone pole.

A Red-Tail Hawk taking flight from his perch up on a telephone pole. (I love this picture!!!)

I finally scared the both of them away, but got some nice pictures in the process:

A Red-Tailed Hawk taking flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk taking flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk taking flight

A Red-Tailed Hawk taking flight

The silhouette of a Red-Tailed Hawk.

The silhouette of a Red-Tailed Hawk.

All in all, It was a great day to go birding, and I am even more amazed at the magnificence and majesty of a Red-Tailed Hawk, then I was even this morning!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Wyatt VanDePol

Son, Brother, Nikon photographer, Beekeeper, Pianist, Artist, Coffee lover, Good book lover, Cross Country runner, and WordPress blogger.

8 responses to “Red-Tailed Hawk”

  1. Bob Zeller says :

    Nice collection of images of the Red-tailed Hawk. It is my favorite raptor to photograph, too,

  2. New Hampshire Gardener says :

    It’s always great to find what you’ve been hunting for. Nice shots!

  3. The Birding Bunch says :

    Beautiful pictures! We had a Red-tailed Hawk nest near the creek by us and enjoyed the young as they cried and cried wanting to be fed. They came up by our home a few times, still crying for whatever reason. We look forward to their return. We have a free meal fattening itself on our bird feed and later it will try for our garden.

    • Wyatt VanDePol says :

      Wow! That sounds like quite an opportunity to get some really cool pictures! I hope you have luck with them coming back to nest! Thanks so much for visiting, and commenting!

  4. Jennifer says :

    The photography is beautiful…..I especially love all nature, so these are amazing!!

Please Comment! You know you want to!

Ozark Mountain Preparedness, LLC.

Outdoor Survival Courses in NW Arkansas

JeffKlick.com

Jeffklick.com - Seeking a Generational Harvest

Confessions of a Fotographer

a look into my lens

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

山康摄影

chi khong photography

The PhotoNaturalist

Adventures in natural history photography with Sparky Stensaas

amare vitam

capturing southwestern saskatchewan and beyond through my lens

