Christ Prep. Academy Basketball


This past year my older brother played basketball for a local christian school, Christ Prep. Academy. I wanted to work on my action photography skills, so I became the ‘unofficial’ team photographer. I took probably 15,000+ pictures this past season, but these are a few of my favorites. (#32 is my brother, hence there are a lot more pictures of him than anyone else!)

#15

#15

#31

#31

#32 (My Bro!)

#32 (My Bro!)

#32 (My Bro!)

#32 (My Bro!)

#32 (My Bro!)

#32 (My Bro!)

#32 (My Bro!)

#32 (My Bro!)

#32 (My Bro!)

#32 (My Bro!)

#33

#33

#35

#35

#35

#35

If you are a photographer, what is your favorite lens to use for Action/Sports photography, and what settings do you use?

Tags: , , , ,

About Wyatt VanDePol

Son, Brother, Nikon photographer, Beekeeper, Pianist, Artist, Coffee lover, Good book lover, Cross Country runner, and WordPress blogger.

7 responses to “Christ Prep. Academy Basketball”

  1. New Hampshire Gardener says :

    I used to use an SLR back in the film days but for digital I went with a Canon SX40. It’s a good camera for nature and landscape shots, which is most of what I do now. I also use a Panasonic Lumix for macro shots. I think you should stick with whatever you’re doing / using because these photos look great in spite of the tough lighting conditions.

  2. Steve Boer says :

    A challenging subject, and you’re doing well it looks like, what lens and settings did you use for these shots?

    • Wyatt VanDePol says :

      Most of them I used my 55-300mm lens, and shot in manual mode, (I don’t like the ‘Action’ setting when I’m shooting indoors with gymnasium lighting) Here are my settings:
      Aperture: 4.5 (as low as I can go with this lens :/)
      ISO: Approx. 2500
      Shutter Speed: 1/400 sec.

      Give or take a few depending on the picture, but these are probably the averages.

      • Steve Boer says :

        That sounds good. A faster lens might help, such as the 70-200 2.8, but it’s expensive and then you really have to nail your focus points much more accurately when shooting wide open. I found this out trying to take some indoor shots the other day without using flash with my 50mm 1.8

      • Wyatt VanDePol says :

        I agree a faster lens would help. I’d like to get one, I just don’t have the funds. One day hopefully!

Please Comment! You know you want to!

Ozark Mountain Preparedness, LLC.

Outdoor Survival Courses in NW Arkansas

JeffKlick.com

Jeffklick.com - Seeking a Generational Harvest

Confessions of a Fotographer

a look into my lens

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

山康摄影

chi khong photography

The PhotoNaturalist

Adventures in natural history photography with Sparky Stensaas

amare vitam

capturing southwestern saskatchewan and beyond through my lens

