Ruby-Throated Hummingbird


I was looking at some photos from last summer, and I found these pictures of a Ruby Throated Hummingbird that I took while at my grandparents in Iowa and thought I post some of ’em!

I love hummingbirds, I think that they are a beautiful, delicate, and amazing animal. They are kinda hard to get picture of, especially if you don’t have a tripod, because they are so quick. These are my favorite pictures that I took, out of almost 600!

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird taking a drink from this feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird taking a drink from this feeder

I was able to get some decent pictures once I found a suitable place to sit where I was close enough to get some good pictures, but far enough away from the feeder that the hummingbird was comfortable visiting it.

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird taking a drink from a feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird taking a drink from a feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird trying to decide whether to take another drink from the feeder, or go chase another hummingbird off his territory

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird trying to decide whether to take another drink from the feeder, or go chase another hummingbird off his territory

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird inspects a feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird inspects a feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird taking a drink from a feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird taking a drink from a feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird glances at me while I take his picture

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird glances at me while I take his picture

Something catches this Ruby Throated Hummingbird's eye

Something catches this Ruby Throated Hummingbird’s eye

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird flying around a feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird flying around a feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird leaving the feeder to rest in  a nearby tree.

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird leaving the feeder to rest in a nearby tree.

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird watching me, while inspecting a feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird watching me, while inspecting a feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird scouting a feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird scouting a feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird scouting a feeder

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird scouting a feeder

I did not realize how territorial hummingbirds were until I watched this little guy for a while. He would take a few sips of nectar either from the feeder or some nearby flowers, then he would perch himself up on a branch where he would have an unobstructed view of his territory, so that if the need arose, he could chase unwelcome guests of his territory. I saw him chase off a couple hummingbirds, and I was even more amazed a the speed and agility of these little birds… But what impressed me even more, was when he took it upon himself to clear the yard of not just hummingbirds, but Finches, Cardinals, and Blue Jays as well!

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird keeping watch over his territory

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird keeping watch over his territory

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird keeping watch over his territory

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird keeping watch over his territory

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird keeping watch over his territory.

A Ruby Throated Hummingbird keeping watch over his territory.

He had a little trouble with the Cardinals, because they were enjoying their sunflower seeds, and did not want to move… but with some angry squawking , and extremely impressive flying maneuvers, he finally persuaded them to move somewhere else.

The Blue Jays and Finches left without much ado. The Blue Jays were out of peanuts anyways, and the finches were already starting to move to some sunflower heads anyways, so they didn’t put up much of a fight.

So finally, the Hummingbird was able to congratulate himself on a job well done as he succeeded in completely clearing his territory of unwanted and unwelcome visitors, and in giving quite an acrobatic display!

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Wyatt VanDePol

Son, Brother, Nikon photographer, Beekeeper, Pianist, Artist, Coffee lover, Good book lover, Cross Country runner, and WordPress blogger.

13 responses to “Ruby-Throated Hummingbird”

  1. Spade2012 says :

    Great pics of those little guys! I had an excursion last year with the ruby-throat as well. check it out: http://agirlwithcamera.wordpress.com/2013/02/19/hummingbirds/

  2. originalribenababy says :

    Amazing pictures, well worth the patience 🙂

  3. The Birding Bunch says :

    I smiled at this post. Very nice pictures. You got the wings! 🙂

    We had a female hummingbird that guarded the whole yard last year We heard to avoid the hummingbird fights, put up feeders on different sides of the house. So we had one on the north and one on the south side, but she took over both and would hover high over the house to keep an eye on things. And yes, she scared off Warblers, sparrows… Others have said Red-tailed hawks, though I am not sure I can believe that.

    Ah, so your grandparents might be neighbors of ours. 🙂 We live in the central portion of Iowa.

    • Wyatt VanDePol says :

      That’s actually kinda comical… she took over both feeders. I’d have to agree with you about doubting the Red-tailed Hawk story, but maybe it is true… they sure have the attitude required to do it!
      My Grandparents are a little Northeast of Des Moines. Who knows? Maybe ya’ll are pretty close!

  4. thephotoseye says :

    Great shots! Especially the hummingbird!

  5. Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat says :

    I’m a big fan of hummingbirds. I can’t wait for “hummingbird season” to arrive.

  6. Jennifer says :

    I love hummingbirds….the pictures are beautiful!!

Please Comment! You know you want to!

Ozark Mountain Preparedness, LLC.

Outdoor Survival Courses in NW Arkansas

JeffKlick.com

Jeffklick.com - Seeking a Generational Harvest

Confessions of a Fotographer

a look into my lens

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

山康摄影

chi khong photography

The PhotoNaturalist

Adventures in natural history photography with Sparky Stensaas

amare vitam

capturing southwestern saskatchewan and beyond through my lens

