Spring is here!….. And so is this Garter Snake!


Well the weather is finally starting to cooperate and we are finally starting to feel like it is actually SPRING! The plants are starting to bloom and bud and I am starting to see the wildlife change. The winter birds are starting to disappear and the spring ones are plentiful. I’m starting to notice how green the grass is. The flies are back… And, as my little brothers discovered, the snakes are also coming out of hibernating and are hunting for small prey once again.

My little brothers and older brother came and got me to take a few pictures of this small lil’ guy.

My older brother holding a Garter Snake

My older brother holding a Garter Snake

My older brother holding a Garter Snake

My older brother holding a Garter Snake

A Garter Snake slithering through the grass

A Garter Snake slithering through the grass

A Garter Snake slithering through the grass

A Garter Snake slithering through the grass

A Garter Snake observing his surroundings

A Garter Snake observing his surroundings

A Garter Snake sneaking away through the grass.

A Garter Snake sneaking away through the grass.

A Garter Snake stops to watch its surroundings for a moment

A Garter Snake stops to watch its surroundings for a moment

A Garter Snake freezes and watches me as I snap his picture.

A Garter Snake freezes and watches me as I snap his picture.

A Garter Snake trying to find an escape route to get away from my camera.

A Garter Snake trying to find an escape route to get away from my camera.

Tags: , , , , ,

About Wyatt VanDePol

Son, Brother, Nikon photographer, Beekeeper, Pianist, Artist, Coffee lover, Good book lover, Cross Country runner, and WordPress blogger.

2 responses to “Spring is here!….. And so is this Garter Snake!”

  1. Steve Boer says :

    Nice work, you really nailed the focus on those which seems like it must have been tricky.

  2. The Birding Bunch says :

    Great pictures. I like the one with its tongue out. We see Garters and other snakes around here. One Garter slithered into the mudroom last summer while I was coming in. It might have been about this size. We were able to get it back out without any trouble.

Please Comment! You know you want to!

Ozark Mountain Preparedness, LLC.

Outdoor Survival Courses in NW Arkansas

JeffKlick.com

Jeffklick.com - Seeking a Generational Harvest

Confessions of a Fotographer

a look into my lens

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

山康摄影

chi khong photography

The PhotoNaturalist

Adventures in natural history photography with Sparky Stensaas

amare vitam

capturing southwestern saskatchewan and beyond through my lens

