Hello Again! And Happy Memorial Day!


As you can see, it has been a LONG time since my last post (exactly 7 weeks). There are many reasons for this, but basically I have just been REALLY busy… I just finished up my first track season, got a job about two and a half months ago, have been building a house extension with my grandfather, went on a camping trip…. on top of school…. so I really have had no time for photography. BUT now I do have time, and I plan to  ‘catch up’ on my nearly two months of absence.

HAPPY MEMORIAL DAY!

It is always very inspiring to see a whole community come together to thank our veterans, and know that the exact same thing is happening all over the country.  But taking the opportunity to thank a veteran for YOUR freedoms is not something that should only be done one Monday out of the year… I honestly think that we should have ‘Memorial Week’! Because I think that it is impossible to completely show our thanks to all the soldiers who have served and those who gave their life to protect our freedoms… in ONE day… So when you see a veteran today, shake his hand and tell him how much you appreciate his sacrifice. When you see a veteran next week…. Shake his hand! And tell him how much you appreciate his sacrifice! We need to make recognizing them for what they have done, and praying for the men and women still on active duty, a DAILY task.

Most of my family and I went to the ‘Celebration at the Station’ in downtown KC, MO. We go about every year, and its really fun! The Kansas City Symphony played patriotic songs for about two hours, which was followed by a nice fireworks display right behind the World War I Memorial.

Here are a few pictures!

The World War I Memorial in downtown KC

The World War I Memorial in downtown KC

A Close-up of the World War I Memorial in downtown KC

A Close-up of the World War I Memorial in downtown KC

The top of the World War I Memorial in downtown KC

The top of the World War I Memorial in downtown KC

The World War I Memorial in downtown KC during the 'Celebration at the Station'

The World War I Memorial in downtown KC during Memorial Day celebrations

 

FIREWORKS!!!!

A beautiful blue firework above the World War I Monument

A beautiful blue firework above the World War I Monument

Fireworks celebrating Memorial Day behind the World War I Monument

Fireworks celebrating Memorial Day behind the World War I Monument

A Memorial Day fireworks display

A Memorial Day fireworks display

Fireworks in downtown KC at 'Celebration at the Station'

Fireworks in downtown KC at ‘Celebration at the Station’

Fireworks near the World War I monument in downtown KC

Fireworks near the World War I monument in downtown KC

Here is a link to a short video I took of some of the fireworks – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jjb7e-FMvNo

Hope you enjoyed the pictures! And once again, Happy Memorial Day!…  IT’S GREAT TO BE BACK!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Wyatt VanDePol

Son, Brother, Nikon photographer, Beekeeper, Pianist, Artist, Coffee lover, Good book lover, Cross Country runner, and WordPress blogger.

Please Comment! You know you want to!

Ozark Mountain Preparedness, LLC.

Outdoor Survival Courses in NW Arkansas

JeffKlick.com

Jeffklick.com - Seeking a Generational Harvest

Confessions of a Fotographer

a look into my lens

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

山康摄影

chi khong photography

The PhotoNaturalist

Adventures in natural history photography with Sparky Stensaas

amare vitam

capturing southwestern saskatchewan and beyond through my lens

